Buffalo Heel Steak and Sauteed Mushrooms w/ Roasted Butternut Squash and Cut Green Beans

August 21, 2017 at 4:55 PM | Posted in Wild Idea Buffalo | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today’s Menu: Buffalo Heel Steak and Sauteed Mushrooms w/ Roasted Butternut Squash and Cut Green Beans

 

 

To start the morning off I made a Chili and Cheese Egg White Omelet. I used the leftover 3 Bean Turkey Chili from Dinner the night before along with Sargento Reduced Fat Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese, Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, and for the Omelet I used Egg Beater’s Egg Whites. Egg Beater’s are great to use, only 25 calories per serving for the Egg Whites. I also toasted a couple of slices of Aunt Millie’s Light Bread and my morning cup of Bigelow Decaf Green Tea.

 

 

 

A hot one out there today, 88 degrees and humid. After I had Breakfast I wen to McDonald’s to pick up Breakfast for Mom. Cleaned the house today then after Lunch went up to Dad at the rehab unit. Got back home about the time of the Eclipse. My neighbors had a spare pair of the special glasses so I was able to watch it, it was amazing! For Dinner tonight I prepared a Buffalo Heel Steak and Sauteed Mushrooms w/ Butternut Squash, Cut Green Beans, Baked Light Garlic Bread Slice.

 

 

 

I had purchased the Wild Idea Buffalo – 12 OZ. ROUND HEEL STEAK a while back and had it in the freezer. I put in the fridge to thaw overnight. Second time I’ve prepared the Heel Steak, and what a beautiful cuts of meat they are! Very lean with no fat. To prepare it I’ll need my Cast Iron Skillet, Extra Light Olive Oil, McCormick Grinder Sea Salt and Peppercorn Medley, Crushed Rosemary and Fresh Thyme.

 

 

 

 

To start it I rubbed the Steak with a light coat of Extra Light Olive Oil. Then seasoned it with the Crushed Rosemary, fresh Thyme, and McCormick’s Grinder Sea Salt and Black Peppercorn. As the Steak rested I preheated the Cast Iron Skillet, that I sprayed with Pam Cooking Spray and a 1/2 tablespoon of extra Light Olive Oil, on medium heat. When the skillet was heated I added my Buffalo Sirloin, I cooked it 4 minutes per side to a beautiful Medium Rare, It cooked up beautifully. As I said it’s the first time I’ve had Heel Steak, it’s a great cut of meat that’s so tender and flavorful! I’m the newest member of the Buffalo Heel Steak Club! I’m ready to order more from Wild Idea! The Steak was huge so I plenty leftover for Steak and Eggs in the morning or for Lunch tomorrow.

 

Then for one side I prepared some Roasted Butternut Squash, easy recipe for some delicious Butternut Squash! And this too has quickly become a favorite. I purchased 1 small package of Diced Butternut Squash at Kroger. They sell packages of it that they dice up. This is a lot easier than peeling and seeding one yourself, especially if you don’t have a good knife to cut it. I’ll need; 1 package of Diced Butternut Squash, Crumbled Bacon Bits, 1 tablespoons Extra Light Olive Oil, 1 1/2 teaspoons McCormick Grinder Sea Salt, and 1 teaspoon McCormick Grinder Peppercorn Medley.

 

 

 

To prepare it; Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Place the Squash on a sheet pan and drizzle with the Olive Oil, Salt, and Peppercorn and toss well. Arrange the squash in one layer and roast for 25 to 30 minutes, until the Squash is tender, turning once with a spatula. And done, very easy to prepare. With the small amount of Seasoning and Olive Oil, it really brings out the flavor of Butternut Squash!

 

 

 

For a second side I heated up a can of Del Monte Cut Green Beans. I also reheated a couple of slices of leftover Pillsbury French Bread. Had a Diet Peach Snapple to drink. For Dessert later a Jello Sugar Free Dark Chocolate Pudding topped with Cool Whip Free.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wild Idea Buffalo – 12 OZ. ROUND HEEL STEAK
This cut is a favorite of Jill’s: loaded with flavor, it comes from the most tender part of the primal round. A hidden cut that only skilled artisan butchers are aware of. We’ve cut it into a 12 oz. portion, making it a perfect dinner for two option. Marinade is optional. Rub with a little olive oil, salt and pepper and grill or pan sear.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great looking dish.

    • Buffalo is so good! The Steaks are so tender and juicy.

  2. Very yum recipe 🙂


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Blake's Bites and Bevs

Easy meals, happy hour inspired cocktails, and local brews

Arpita Roy

Healthcare and Digital Enthusiast.

Borough Chef

Recipes and updates from chef Beth Adamson

what Will eats

Cooking comfort food and traveling for new eats

Xanadu

Unboxing the human experience

Graceful Mary

Living the simple life

My Nana's Recipes

The good old-fashioned Italian cuisine

Hive Heart Harvest

Homegrown Happiness, Family Approved

Book Dragon That Cooks

I love cooking and accumulating books that I hope to read at some point.

ya hungry?

The answer to the "you hungry?" question is always yes in my eyes!

re·dact

Masters of the Universe, BBQ, and Hot Sauce Hub

The Spoon

Eating Disorder Recovery

Steve Hall Blog

Posts from our Adventure on the Sea of Life

Scandal Boggs ┃ Fashion, Beauty & Home

Profiling the hottest trends, outfit ideas, and home lifestyle

Healthy Austin Magazine

Keeping Austin Healthy One Issue at a Time

bonitappétit

a lifestyle blog